top of page

Concerning women & violence in India

Since I decided to go to India, one of the most common reactions I get is, "Don't you know how unsafe it is for women there?" This reaction and concern has come from people both within my chosen career field in International Development, and those outside. Initially I was surprised that this issue of women's safety was the first thought for most people when they think of India. Having never been there, I think of bright colors, spices, hot weather, temples, cows, and crazy busy streets full of rickshaws. But I am also sensitive to the fact that most of the news coming out of India recently has been quite negative in terms of violence against women. So I think it's important enough to address it in a blog post and I anticipate that it's going to be a common theme throughout my experience in India.

Working conditions for women is also a concern for the organization I'll be working with. Early on in our conversations, they stressed the importance of me knowing and anticipating a challenging work environment. They told me that for starters that in Rajasthan, it's rare to find educated women in the workforce. Second, it's not common for young, educated women to have a voice in their place of work. So for me, stepping into an environment that is dominated by men and bringing an expertise that they may not have, is going to challenge the status quo. That is compounded by my race, socioeconomic background, and outsider status. Let's just say there will be quite a few things working against me.

Most of my work in India will be in support of women's empowerment through self-help groups. I plan to detail more of this on the blog once I arrive and begin my work. But for now I'll say that often what we hear in international news overlooks the positive work of thousands of people around the world. We shouldn't shy away from facing difficulties and challenges because of it. As much as it may be challenging, I look forward to learning from women who have overcome some of these challenges in an attempt to empower other women around them.

Stay tuned!

bottom of page