top of page

How do you pack for 120 degrees?

As all of us in Santa Cruz complain about our mild "heat wave" coming up from Baja, with temperatures leveling off in the low 80s, I thought I would remind you all of the real heat I am about to experience. I am sure in a few weeks I'll be wishing it was only 85 degrees.

In Rajasthan, the months of June - September is the hottest time of the year. As monsoons approach in July, the desert heats up, reaching upwards of 120 degrees in some places. Unfortunately this year, beyond the normal temperature increases, India experienced a severe heat wave, noted as the 5th worst heat wave in Earth's recorded history. In some places the asphalt on roads melted and nearly 3,000 people died. You can read more about it here, here, and here.

I came across a site created by web developer, Cameron Beccario, which visually represents what he calls the "misery index" across the globe -- which factors in both heat and humidity to show which places are experiencing the highest levels of misery due to temperature rises. You can see in the image below that the northern half of India is red and yellow, an indication of high heat.

So how am I planning on surviving in this heat? Unfortunately, there's little I can do in terms of clothing because in India women dress conservatively -- long skirts or pants, covered shoulders, etc. Therefore, here are a few items I've purchased for this trip that will hopefully provide some relief:

1. Cold eye mask

This will be something to look forward to on days out in the field, where I am expecting temperatures to be well over 100 degrees. If you plan on skyping with me, don't be surprised if I am wearing my eye mask!

2. Cooling Bandanas

This may look a little gimmicky (and remind you of the Village People), but these cooling bandanas supposedly provide 12 hour relief while out in the heat. The color and style is not appealing, but I doubt I am going to care when in the desert! The bandana is small enough that I am hoping to hide it under my shirt so that it doesn't look like I should be at a rodeo.

3. Cooling migraine pads

These migraine cooling pads were recommended by one of the staff members I'm working with. She said they're great because they don't need to be refrigerated so they are perfect for days when the electricity is out.

bottom of page